TweetEraser is useful for people who'd like to limit the amount of data they expose about themselves online. Some specific examples where TweetEraser could be handy: -
We've been operating since October 2011. The current website launched in June 2019, bringing a complete redesign and numerous new features and improvements.
If you have any automatic tasks active there will be a button to turn them off on your Tasks page. Other types of task only run once, so don't need to be turned off.
You can alternatively revoke permissions for TweetEraser.
You can revoke permissions for TweetEraser on Twitter's application settings page. This makes it impossible for TweetEraser to access your Twitter account unless you sign in to our site and reauthorise it.
We suggest doing the same for any others apps you no longer need in order to increase your Twitter account's privacy and security.
[This is a premium feature]
Yes, you can upload your Twitter data file for us to process, which allows you to delete any number of old tweets. See the upload instructions for more details on how this works.
Yes, just choose "Run this task: Automatically every few days" when starting a tweet deletion task. We'll then automatically start deletion tasks for you with the same settings every 3 days (this may vary based on service load).
Your "Tasks" page will show details on any active automatic task and provide an option to stop it. You can also see the results from any recent executions there.
If you're a non-premium user, you must sign in to our site at least once every 6 months to keep your automatic tasks active. This is to ensure we're only providing this service to people who still want it, and to prevent the number of automatic tasks we need to process becoming unsustainable over time.
[This is a premium feature intended for more advanced users]
Yes. If TweetEraser doesn't have an option for what you want, you can pass in the numeric IDs of specific tweets for us to delete. See the advanced mode instructions.
We have several different premium plans you can choose from. These plans give you access to our advanced features and makes deleting your tweets a lot easier. Our lowest plan starts at only $3.99/mo!
Visit our premium page for more details or to purchase.
No. Premium status is based on your Twitter account, so if you want to use these features on multiple accounts, you will need to pay to upgrade each one.
To cancel your premium subscription, simply go to our account settings page. From there you can see which subscription you are subscribed to and click the cancel button.
Yes. We treat these exactly the same as other tweets, so they will be deleted if they match the age and/or keyword you specified. The same limitations also apply, so we might only be able to access the older ones after processing your data file.
Twitter's timeline/home page only shows recent tweets, so if you delete all of your most recent 3,200 tweets, it will appear empty. The number on the counter is correct - these tweets still exist and may appear in search results or on other pages. For example the "media" page seems to work differently and can show tweets of any age.
You can get an accurate list of the tweets remaining in your account from your Twitter data file.
There are certain specific circumstances where tweets can become inaccessible, so can't be viewed or deleted by any means. Some cases where we've noticed this are: -
In these cases your retweet becomes inaccessible, so it's not possible to delete it, and it remains on the counter forever. For this reason, even if you're deleting everything using an uploaded data file, we often won't be able to reduce your tweet count right down to zero.
The counts that usually appear in the status message for completed tasks are: -
Some other counts only appear in certain circumstances or if we encounter particular errors: -
If your task is encountering errors and you don't know why, get in touch and we'll take a look. We may have logged additional information.
Types of error that TweetEraser tasks can return include: -
Sorry, we can't do that. For privacy reasons, we do not store a record of anything TweetEraser deleted. It's impossible for us to recover any deleted tweets.
We state this clearly on every page where you can start a deletion job, and have designed our site very carefully to help users avoid common pitfalls (e.g. being logged in on the wrong account). Unfortunately there will always be some potential for people to accidentally choose the wrong options.